RIZ Energie

RIZ Energie, short for Regionales Innovationszentrum für Energietechnik, is Hochschule Offenburg’s newest research building addition, with a large laboratory and a plus-energy building design. Starting in summer 2020, RIZ Energie will be bringing together the University’s wide range of research activities related to resource and energy efficiency.

RIZ Energie is part of the regional development concept of the “Sustainable Energy Valley” of the Southern Upper Rhine region, developed in the “RegioWIN” competition (“Regional Competitiveness through Innovation and Sustainability”) under the leadership of the Klimapartner Oberrhein association. RegioWIN itself is an essential component of the State of Baden-Württemberg’s ERDF Strategy (European Regional Development Fund) for the 2014-2020 funding period and was launched by the State’s Ministry of Science, Research and Arts and Ministry of Rural Areas and Consumer Protection in 2013.

RIZ Energie is a partner for trade and industry in all aspects of product and system development of resource-efficient products, industrial media supply and building technology. It aims to strengthen the University’s research and development capacity, and to increase competitiveness in the region by establishing networks with local companies. To achieve significant progress in R&D, it is not enough to examine or optimize individual components or individual steps of the value-added chain in isolation. Rather, manufacturers and operators will research new approaches in close interaction and implement solutions in a timely and sustainable manner.

RIZ Energie transparently combines research, teaching and application, and in itself demonstrates the practical implementation of the energy turnaround with its construction design and technical facility equipment.

Timetable, Costs and Financing

A first project idea for a "Sustainable Energy Valley" was developed in August 2012 in the framework of the Baden-Württemberg RegioWIN competition. A resulting Regional Strategy Concept was presented in August 2013 and in August 2014, after funding was awarded, the Regional Development Concept for Energy System Transformation for the Southern Upper Rhine Region.

In this regional development concept, the Regionale Innovationszentrum für EnergietechnikRIZ Energie was proposed as a lighthouse project for funding. Hochschule Offenburg registered the project in March 2015 at the State Office of Property and Construction (department of Freiburg) in agreement with the Ministry of Science, Research and Arts. The competition ran in spring 2015 and resulted in the assignment to Birk Heilmeyer und Frenzel Architekten in July 2015.

The project was launched with the ‘first major planning meeting’ in September 2015. An important milestone was the submission of the building documents in January 2016 for the financial year 2017/2018. In October 2016, the donors’ foundation was established. The building permit was finally issued in October 2017.

Construction work began in May 2018 with the ground-breaking ceremony, with the handover to the University agreed for the 2020 summer semester. Since late March 2020, the offices and pilot plant have been set up. The move in is currently planned for May 2020. Over the next few months, all lab equipment will be installed and gradually put into operation.

The ceremonial handover is planned for August 2020.

The construction costs (cost classes 200-700) of the entire project amount to € 8.5 million, whereby the building site was provided by the City of Offenburg. Funds of € 1.5 million have been earmarked for the initial equipment. The financing of these 10 million euros is financed to 50% by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund), to 30% by the donors and Hochschule Offenburg, and to 20% by the State of Baden-Württemberg.

RIZ Energie

Mit dem "Regionalen Innovationszentrum für Energietechnik", kurz RIZ Energie genannt, entstand an der Hochschule Offenburg ein neues Forschungsgebäude mit großem Technikum als netzdienliches Nullenergiegebäude. Die Hochschule Offenburg wird hier ab Sommer 2020 die vielfältigen Forschungsaktivitäten rund um Ressourcen- und Energieeffizienz zusammenführen.

Das RIZ Energie ist Teil des regionalen Entwicklungskonzepts der Wettbewerbsregion Südlicher Oberrhein, das unter der Federführung des Vereins Klimapartner Oberrhein im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs "Regionale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit durch Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit - RegioWIN" erarbeitet wurde. RegioWIN selbst ist ein wesentliches Programmelement der EFRE-Strategie (Europäischer Fonds für regionale Entwicklung) des Landes Baden-Württemberg für die Förderperiode 2014-2020 und wurde bereits 2013 durch das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst und dem Ministerium für Ländlichen Raum und Verbraucherschutz aufgelegt.

Das RIZ Energie ist Partner für Industrie und Gewerbe rund um die Produkt- und System­entwicklung ressourceneffizienter Produkte, die industrielle Medienversorgung und die Gebäudetechnik. Es soll gezielt die Forschungs- und Entwicklungskapazität (FuE) der Hochschule Offenburg stärken und durch die Vernetzung mit ansässigen Unternehmen die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit in der Region erhöhen. Um signifikante Fortschritte in der FuE zu erzielen, reicht es nicht aus, einzelne Komponenten bzw. einzelne Schritte der Wertschöpfungskette losgelöst zu untersuchen bzw. zu optimieren. Vielmehr erforschen Hersteller und Anwender hier in engem wechselseitigem Austausch neue Lösungsansätze und setzen diese zeitnah nachhaltig um.

Das RIZ Energie bringt Forschung, Lehre und Anwendung transparent zusammen und zeigte bereits in der baulichen Gestaltung und anlagentechnischen Aus­rüstung die Energiewende in praktischer Umsetzung.

Zeitplan, Kosten und Finanzierung

Im August 2012 wurde im Rahmen des RegioWIN-Wettbewerbs des Landes Baden-Württemberg eine erste Projektidee zum "Sustainable Energy Valley" entwickelt. Im August 2013 wurde darauf basierend ein Regionales Strategiekonzept und (nach dessen Prämierung) im August 2014 das Regionale Entwicklungskonzept zur Energiewende-Region Südlicher Oberrhein vorgelegt.

Das Regionale Innovationszentrum für Energietechnik (RIZ Energie) wurde in diesem regionalen Entwicklungskonzept als Leuchtturmprojekt zur Förderung vorgeschlagen. Die Hochschule Offenburg meldete das Projekt im März 2015 in Absprache mit dem Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst bei Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg (Amt Freiburg) an. Der Wettbewerb lief im Frühjahr 2015 und endete mit der Beauftragung an das Büro Birk Heilmeyer und Frenzel im Juli 2015.

Projektstart war mit der 'ersten großen Planungsbesprechung' im September 2015. Wichtiger Meilenstein war dabei die Abgabe der Bauunterlage im Januar 2016 für das Haushaltsjahr 2017/2018. Im Oktober 2016 gründete sich der Stifterkreis und die Baufreigabe erfolgte schließlich im Oktober 2017.

Im Mai 2018 begannen die Bauarbeiten mit dem Spatenstich, wobei die Übergabe an die Hochschule Offenburg für das Sommersemester 2020 vereinbart wurde. Seit Ende März 2020 werden Büros und Technikum eingerichtet. Der Einzug ist aktuell im Mai 2020 vorgesehen. Im Laufe der nächsten Monate werden alle Laboreinrichtungen installiert und schrittweise in Betrieb genommen.

Die feierliche Übergabe ist im August 2020 geplant.

Die Baukosten (KG 200- 700) des Gesamtvorhabens betragen 8,5 Mio. €, wobei das Grundstück von der Stadt Offenburg bereitgestellt wurde. Für die Erstausstattung sind Mittel in Höhe von 1,5 Mio. € vorgesehen. Die Finanzierung dieser 10 Mio. € wird zu 50 % durch die Europäische Union im Rahmen des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung, zu 30 % durch den Stifterkreis und die Hochschule Offenburg und zu 20 % durch das Land Baden-Württemberg getragen.